The Mauney House was built by Isaac White before Arkansas entered the union reportedly around 1830. The home was rebuilt by Walter J. Mauney in 1911, just after the diamond strike.
The Mauney family owned forty acres that are now part of the Crater of Diamonds State Park.
The walls are painted with murals depicting, among other things, John Wesley Huddleston finding the first diamond in the area. An unfinished oak tree trunk stands as a central column from the ground to the ceiling of the first story. It's an eccentric little place, and it is easy to peek in the first floor windows and peek at the elaborate murals on the walls.